Bottoms Up Monopoly!

IMG_0200Over the Winter Break, I decided to get  crafty with a little help from Pinterest. While looking up ideas on how to paint my boyfriend’s fraternity cooler for his formal in a few months, I came across the top of a cooler painted to look like a drinking monopoly game. This started to get me thinking. What if I took an old monopoly board and converted it into my own drinking game version of the game?

Thus, Bottoms Up Monopoly was born!

I’m attaching the links to the PDF files I created for the Bottoms Up board game.I also have a list of suggested materials. For the monopoly board, you don’t have to go purchase or find an old game board. (Depending on the size of the board of whichever Monopoly version you have, the tile pieces I created may be a tad off.) Instead you could use cardboard or a poster board, just as long as it’s something with a good enough surface to use as a game board.

Materials:
GLUE
SCISSORS
MONOPOLY BOARD GAME
CONTACT PAPER
PRINTER/CARDSTOCK
DICE (If you don’t actually purchase a monopoly board game)
BOTTLECAPS

For the token pieces; you can always use something else for the tokens. I thought it would also be cute to use old Barbie drinking glasses/bottles or something)

Board Tiles:

The following is the shareable PDF link for the board tiles I made. You could always create your own and change them. I made mine on Microsoft word. I measured the individual tile spaces on the board I was using and created the tiles to be the same size. They came out just a tad smaller than I had planned, but they still worked out perfectly. The prices on the tiles are ones taken directly from the original Monopoly game.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8B001iG01xHLVlGWG1iNFEzc00/view?usp=sharing

Property Cards:

I used all the same prices and rents on the Bottoms Up property cards as the original Monopoly game. I tried using the most expensive alcohols for the typically most expensive properties.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8B001iG01xHeXBDRmxGMXpCVTA/view?usp=sharing

Chance/Community Chest Cards:

So instead of making the typical “Chance” and “Community Chest” cards, I recreated my own version. The “Chance” cards have been changed to “Cheers” cards and the “Community Chest” cards to “Last Call.” These cards have different fun positive and negative possibilities. Some of them include having to pay money to the center pot (which you can win by landing on the “Chug Your Drink” in 15 seconds or less space), having to go back a few spaces, receiving money, finishing your drink, taking shots, playing categories, a round of Never Have I Ever, et cetera.

Cheers Cards: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8B001iG01xHc0R1OUM5elhFajA/view?usp=sharing

Last Call Cards: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8B001iG01xHUXp6SGVIYVd6OVU/view?usp=sharing

Making the Board

Once you’ve printed out everything, preferably on card stock, you should use contact paper to laminate all the cardIMG_0195s before you cut them out. (This is so it’ll help protect them in game play.) The best thing to do is actually use an original monopoly game board as a reference when you begin placing all of your tiles down. Match up to colors with the correct order of tiles.

In my version of the monopoly game, there are no “Electric Company” or “Water Works” tile. Instead I have “Take a Shot” tiles. Whenever a person lands on this space, they must take a shot. The other players decide what will be in the shot.

Once you have everything glued down and all the places in order, cover your board with a layer of contact paper to keep the paper from going up or ripping or getting damaged during game play.

I bought crafting bottle caps and am using those as the token pieces. I was planning on using bottle caps from different beers and such but I wound up with multiples of the same beers. Plus, the crafting bottle caps are not as sharp around the edges, so they won’t wear on the board too much.

Bottoms Up Monopoly pretty much plays as any normal monopoly game, but it’s always open and fun for players to add their own drinking rules to the mix. I really enjoyed crafting this game and had so much fun! Now I’m ready to get some friends together over the weekend and play!

One thought on “Bottoms Up Monopoly!

Leave a Reply

